My Development as a Leader

“I want to be just like her.”

I still remember my first experience when I was filled with admiration and awe while I was watching television. Mulan took upon herself to serve in the war to protect her elderly father from being enlisted as he was the only man in his family. Disguised as a man, she trained and fought through the hardships of war, eventually serving a distinguished military role and was honored by the emperor.

Figure 1 Mulan climbing up a pole in order to prove her worth. Image taken from historycollection.com

Despite it being a 1998 Disney animated rendition of the Ballad of Mulan, a woman in a man’s battlefield was foreign to me—even though her identity was revealed and many of her comrades became skeptical, Mulan did not waver and remained strong to her cause, which enabled her to lead her close comrades during the most crucial time of need to save the emperor.

Fast forward to today, leaders can be found in many different areas in life. Whether it is a CEO of a company or a group leader for a small team, leadership skills can be practiced across all levels of managing positions.

What makes a great leader?

The idea of a leader can be discussed in an abstract sense of someone who has strong persuasion; however, a more holistic way of elaborating would be a relationship when one person can influence the how others act and/or behave (Mullins, 2016, p. 314). There are many ways to examine managerial leadership, yet there are multiple variables that enable one to be a strong and effective leader. Psychologist Daniel Goleman found that effective leaders are distinguished by a high degree of emotional intelligence (EI), and EI is made up of five key elements:

Figure 2 Five Components of Emotional Intelligence.
Retrieved from hbr.org/video/5236216251001/what-makes-a-leader

Throughout one’s leadership journey, one must be able to balance and manage these five areas to gain higher emotional intelligence. During the pandemic, many find themselves navigating through times of psychological, physiological, and financial stressors (Greenwood & Anas, 2021). Having high emotional intelligence enables one to be less affected by their emotions in times of pressure, and people with high EI tend to have stronger and more positive relationships with those around them (Neale, 2020). Moreover, based on the World Economic Forum in 2016, the industrial revolution 4.0 (IR4.0) has brought rapid change in every industry with its technological advances, and the top 10 skills to thrive in the era of IR4.0 includes emotional intelligence. Many have accepted that Artificial Intelligence (AI) will automate tasks in various industries and cite concern regarding the impact on human jobs (Marr, 2020). With rapid change in our current generation, it is important to maintain the emotional wellbeing of ourselves and the people around us.

In the book, First, Break All the Rules, by Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman from the Gallup organization, the Gallup Organization surveyed over 80,000 managers in 400+ companies to receive feedback on how great managers perform under a variety of situations. According to Gallup’s study as cited by Buckingham and Coffman (1999), there are three characteristics that great managers share when it comes to their approach on feedback:

  1. Constant feedback—as a manager, a constant part of their interactions with employees included performance feedback meetings, and these meetings varied in frequency depending on the needs and preferences of their employees.
  2. Brief review of past performance—in the beginning of every session, a good manager will go over past performance of said employee. This is not to criticize or evaluate their past performance, but to allow the employee to see themselves from a different perspective and understand their style of working. After review, the focus would be shifted to how the employee can work productively and effectively in the future with their style.
  3. One on one feedback—lastly, great managers made an effort to provide feedback in a one-on-one setting, in order to allow each individual to understand and build upon their natural strengths.

Despite these three points in common, Buckingham and Coffman infer that it is not recommended for current managers to change their natural managerial style to a standardized and effective management way but instead to capitalize on their own approach to management (Buckingham & Coffman, 1999).

In many ways, becoming conscious and aware of the people that we lead may help us better understand the needs and the motivation factors that drives people to achieve. In 1943, Maslow explains that people are motivated by the desire to achieve their needs, and these needs can be separated into the following categories:

Figure 3 Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. Retrieved from Mullins, 2016, p. 229.

Maslow’s hierarchy of needs is a theory of motivation that explains that human needs can be segregated to five different categories, and these categories are structured in a pyramid shape to imply that the basic and physiological needs must be adequately attained before addressing the higher-level needs. This theory is a valuable approach of thinking because it gives a perceptive insight to human nature, reveals human motivation, and is relevant in all fields of life. However, Maslow’s theory also comes with its limitations—due to every individual having different circumstances and needs, the model lacks empirical data and cannot be measured accurately. Moreover, the theory is bounded to specific cultures and does not take into consideration of culture differences worldwide. 

In order to connect an individual’s physiological and psychological needs to the workplace, Herzberg developed a model which shows the relationship between growth factors and maintenance factors to motivate employees.

Figure 4 Herzberg’s two-factor theory, developed by Fredrick Herzberg in 1959.
Retrieved from Mullins, 2016, p. 233.

Herzberg’s theory of motivation argues that there are two main factors that an organization can use to influence motivation in the workplace, which are motivators and hygiene factors. Based on this model, there are four states that an organization:

  1. High Hygiene and High Motivation: the ideal situation where managers should strive for, where all employees are motivated and satisfied with their administration.
  2. High Hygiene and Low Motivation: a state where employees have few grievances, but they are unsatisfied with their work.
  3. Low Hygiene and High Motivation: the situation where the work is interesting and exciting, however the pay and conditions of work may be less competitive compared in the same industry.
  4. Low Hygiene and Low Motivation: a state where employees are not devoted to their work and have many grievances at work as well.

The two-factory theory enables team leads and managers to improve motivation at work by focusing on eliminating job hygiene stressors and boost work satisfaction and productivity.

To further evaluate on how I can enhance my performance as a leader while tying with the above aspects on leadership and management, I have decided to take a few personality tests and surveys from friends and colleagues to better understand how others view me as an individual.

Myers Brigg Type Indicator: 16 Personalities Test

Figure 5 My personality test summary and breakdown. Taken from https://www.16personalities.com/profile
Figure 6 https://www.16personalities.com/infp-personality

The Myer-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is a test designed to identify a person’s personality type, strengths, and preferences to allow one to further understand and explore their own personalities. Based on the MBTI test, I resonated with the INFP-T personality type, which was categorized under “Mediators” in 16personalities.com.

Based on 16personalities.com, Mediators may be more sensitive to others and have more profound emotional responses to those around them, They also carry themselves as idealistic and empathetic, and also have the following strengths and weaknesses:

Figure 7 Mediator (INFP) Strengths and Weaknesses. Retrieved from 16personalities.com.

Johari’s Window

Figure 8  Johari Window of myself based on 15 others view.
Retrieved from https://kevan.org/johari?view=lynnseak.

In order to further understand how others view me as an individual, I was able to ask my course mates and colleagues to assist in filling up my personal Johari’s window. As a result, I found that many people view me as a Friendly and Caring person, and there were many other aspects that many viewed me that I was not aware of, such as being Confident, Helpful, Knowledgeable and Organized.

Team Member’s Evaluation

Figure 9 Evaluation from team members based on the Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership framework. (Kouzes & Posner, 2017) Chart constructed by author.

As stated by Kouzes & Posner, leadership is not about personality, but about behavior (Kouzes & Posner, 2017, p. 13). Based on the feedback from my groupmates through the Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership framework, I found that my lowest attributes include inspiring and challenging others to grow as individuals. This is not a surprise to me, as I often find myself engulfed in my own work without being attentive to others.

Personal Development Plan

From my personality test from 16personalities.com, I was surprised that after many years after taking the test in 2016, many aspects of my personality has shifted from being a Campaigner (ENFP-A) to a Mediator (INFP-T). The introverted aspect of my personality may have grown throughout the years of graduating university and working; however, I believe that this is aspect has actually led me to become a more tentative listener when others actually come to me for assistance. Moore states that introverted leaders can be better managers for their extroverted employees, as they are more apt to listen actively and intently (Moore, 2021).

Figure In 2016 when I first took the MBTI test, I was categorized under the Campaigner (ENFP-A) personality type.

However, after surveying the results from my Johari’s Window, many others also show that they are not aware of the introverted aspect of my personality. This can be interpreted as that I still carry myself as an outward person when I am with others, yet when it comes to a one-to-one setting, I am more engaged in conversation and will offer more feedback and assistance.

Figure 10 SWOT analysis of myself.

While trying to come up with a personal development plan, I decided to do a SWOT analysis of myself to find an effective direction to work towards using what I know about myself. Through the SWOT analysis I am able to better identify the strengths and opportunities I can use to my advantage, while working on my weaknesses and avoid the threats that may affect my performance as an individual. As stated by Goleman, effective leaders are distinguished by their high level of emotional intelligence, and I would like to cultivate my five components of EI through being more self-regulated as sometimes I can be easily overwhelmed by my emotions. I have decided to become more self-reflective on how I carry myself as an individual, and observe how I make others feel when I engage with them. Moreover, from the evaluation of my team members based on the 5 practices of exemplary leadership, I found that I will need to work on more outwardly to inspire and challenge others in order to bring out their full potential. With this, I have decided to be more engaging and approachable as a person in bigger group environments, so I will be more proactive and comfortable in a public speaking setting.

Figure 11 My personal development plan for the next five years in my current work setting.

As cliché as it is, I wish to be able to achieve a leadership position in the next five years in my career, and I believe that working on myself will be the an effective way to achieve that goal. Since my work is data oriented, it is relevant for me to be well versed in the tools used in CRM to be able to effectively use the programs to further enhance my career. However, as I am currently working with a strong team of seven, I have decided that working on my technical skills while further bonding with my team will be beneficial in the long run to step up as a leader. Through supporting my manager by training the team in aspects that I am well-versed in, my manager will be able to allocate more time in training me in the technical aspects at work.

Figure Leading in discussion has always been terrifying for me, but I have decided to take on more public speaking roles and actively bring out participation from others. Image courtesy of my colleagues.

From Herzberg’s framework, since I am unable to control the most of the hygiene factors in a workplace, I wanted to practice different aspects of motivating my team to strive for excellence by offering multiple senses of achievement during discussion, as well as recognition for overachieving. Empathetic to how my team feedbacks, I will offer one-on-one time to my team to further assist them on things they have difficulty grasping or need more further elaboration. With this regard, I still prefer to lead with a more democratic style of leadership as I am always looking for feedback from my team. Yet I know that my fellow introverted colleagues may not feel as engaged in a group setting, therefore it will be beneficial to adopt a more transformational leadership in the near future.

Despite being a Disney fictional character, Mulan has served as a great inspiration for the young me, and there are still many qualities that I aspire to cultivate now, in terms of her intuitive decision making skills and strong persona. Now, I have looked up many empowering women, including former Microsoft manager turned philanthropist, Melinda Gates. Gates has built her identity around empowering women and girls around the world, and advocating in global health and education (Howard, 2015). Looking up to these women, I believe they also seized the opportunity to grow, therefore I believe that leaders are made, not born. I pursued physics in my degree because I wholeheartedly enjoyed the subject, and now I want to serve as an inspiration for others to pursue their dreams as well. Now working in data science, I can say that I am happy with the pathway I have chosen, and through the feedback from my peers and self-reflection in this blog, I am excited to explore more ways to improve as a leader.

References

16 Personalities. (2021). Mediator (INFP) Personality: Strengths & Weaknesses. NERIS Analytics Limited. https://www.16personalities.com/infp-strengths-and-weaknesses

Buckingham, M., Coffman, C., & Gallup Organization. (1999). First, Break All the Rules: What the World’s Greatest Managers Do Differently (1st ed.) [E-book]. Gallup Press.

Child, J. (1973). Strategies of Control and Organizational Behavior. Administrative Science Quarterly, 18(1), 1–17. https://doi.org/10.2307/2391923

Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/tracybrower/2021/09/19/empathy-is-the-most-important-leadership-skill-according-to-research/?sh=1bd32ed83dc5

Goleman, D. (2016, December 5). What Makes a Leader? HBR Video. https://hbr.org/video/5236216251001/what-makes-a-leader

Greenwood, K., & Anas, J. (2021, October 4). It’s a New Era for Mental Health at Work. Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/2021/10/its-a-new-era-for-mental-health-at-work

Howard, C. (2015, December 9). The First Woman Of Women: How Melinda Gates Became The World’s Most Powerful Advocate For Women And Girls. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/carolinehoward/2015/11/23/the-first-woman-of-women-how-melinda-gates-became-the-worlds-most-powerful-advocate-for-women-and-girls/?sh=e10cad4414a1

Kevan.org. (2021). Johari Window – Lynnseak’s Window. Kevin.Org. https://kevan.org/johari?view=lynnseak

Kouzes, J. M., & Posner, B. Z. (2017). The Leadership Challenge: How to make extraordinary things happen in organizations. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.

Marr, B. (2020, May 8). 5 Reasons Why Artificial Intelligence Really Is Going To Change Our World. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/bernardmarr/2020/05/08/5-reasons-why-artificial-intelligence-really-is-going-to-change-our-world/?sh=72eb87f678b6

Moore, K. (2021, May 26). How Introverted Leaders Can Be Better Managers For Their Extroverted Employees. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/karlmoore/2021/05/26/how-introverted-leaders-can-be-better-managers-for-their-extroverted-employees/?sh=6ee5c6b1eb8a

Mullins, L. (2016). Management & Organisational Behaviour, 11th ed. (11th ed.) [E-book]. Trans-Atlantic Publications, Inc.

Neale, P., PhD. (2020, November 30). Emotional Intelligence: Why We Need It Now, More Than Ever. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbescoachescouncil/2020/12/01/emotional-intelligence-why-we-need-it-now-more-than-ever/?sh=61242d3df3a4

T. (2019, October 8). The Real Story Of Mulan and Where Disney Got it Wrong. HistoryCollection.Com. https://historycollection.com/the-real-story-of-mulan-and-where-disney-got-it-wrong/9/

34 thoughts on “My Development as a Leader”

    1. Thanks for reading through my blog Yin Yin!
      Unfortunately in the beginning of the 2 years I have worked in data science, I am often told that I am very resistant to my manager’s leadership. This is not because I am not willing to listen to my superiors, but because I am more self-driven and autonomous, there are certain ways of drilling and analyzing data that may not align with what my superiors want, but will pose better results. Since I was able to work through with my manager on what works and what does not work with me, she has given me more leeway in handling data and I produce results that aligns not just my individual goals with team goals, but the company’s goals as well. With this, I have learned to be more open-minded and tried to communicate more effectively instead of emotionally, which has made me more comfortable in this environment. I still strongly believe a cohesive democratic environment is very relevant in a data science environment, however, since my manager leads a team of different individuals, a transformational leadership may be more effective in this situation as a whole.
      Communication is key! No one can read each others minds, and sometimes having a difference in opinion can always enhance the growth of a team.

      Thanks again~

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love the example of using MULAN and yes she is indeed an inspiration.

    What type of leader do you want to become in the future, would it be the same industry since your current role is bit different from the your specialty.

    With your Johari window, I did not see you as in introvert too because you have loads of other qualities that make you a very good team/course mate and sometimes leader in various ad-hoc projects.

    Like

    1. Hi Felicia~ Thank you for stopping by again!
      I have been told that having Mulan as an inspiration is quite immature, but what better role model to look up to than a fictional one for an idealistic person such as myself 😛 I think in Physics I have handled a lot of real life data to analyze and predict the outcomes through histograms and graphs, so it does not fend far from my current job scope in the education industry. However, I think I have become more introverted over the years due to the nature of my studies and work, but my extroversion still comes on strong when I am with likeminded people. Thank you so much for your feedback in my Johari’s window; I am just appreciative that I am able to work with multitalented and strong-willed people in this course such as yourself! ❤

      Thanks again!

      Like

  2. Mulan’s story well integrated in this blog, amazing!
    In order to step out of the comfort zone and be more comfortable in a public speaking setting, would you share any on-going actions/practices/habits you are having at the moment?

    Like

    1. Hi Yee Shan, thank you for reading my blog!
      Yes, Mulan will always be my favorite inspirational Disney princess hahaha~
      I think in my field of work, it is necessary for me to be proactive in speaking as I am also in recruitment, so the more information I know, the better I am able to connect with different people and understand people’s needs as an individual. I realized that I needed to separate my work from my personal life, and it was okay to be open and easy going at the work place and still enjoy me-time when I am back at home. For now, I have become more proactive in training our new hires and offering assistance to those with trouble catching up, and now my teammates also share that I am much easier to invite out for dinner after work, which sounds like a win to me 😛
      Overall, changing one’s mindset is really important, whether it comes to work or something personal that we go through in life. There are always two ways to look at things, and once you think that many things are actually working to your favor instead of against your favor, you tend to become more productive and opportunistic when it comes to unfavorable scenarios.
      That’s just my two cents; thank you again for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Dear Lynn,

    Great choice of a Disney character to aspire to.

    As mentioned that you are more introverted. Instead of trying to be more outspoken and extroverted, how would you use this to your strengths in a leadership setting. If so please share on how you plan to do so. Would love to hear your thoughts.

    Thank You
    Kind Regards
    Sai kit

    Like

    1. Hi Saikit, thanks for dropping by.
      I’m still waiting for the next Disney inspiration to come by, but I think in life there are many strong aspirational people we can look up to, and perhaps the more human side of us can relate to them better. I enjoy my introversion as I see it as a way for me to be more in-tune with myself, and I do not impose on others as much to actually feel satisfied as an individual. However, this does not mean I don’t enjoy spending time with others; I believe my introversion allows me to listen to others more and give more personalized feedback, which is important in a recruitment setting as well as a discussion setting. Before, I used to overly blame my introversion as a flaw that I was unable to connect and work with my team and superiors as that was the way I am; however, since I decided to change my mindset and outlook on things, I found that people always came to me for advice and a lending ear. With this revelation, I have seen my introversion to be a trump card and separated my work from my personal life, therefore becoming more easy-going and attentive.
      Thank you!

      Like

  4. Hey Lynnette, love the writeup was such a seamless reading experience!

    How much do you think EQ plays into your aspirations as a leader and how would you measure your self in that regard? Additionally, how would you go about inculcating this within your self progressively?

    Like

    1. Hi Vin, thank you for reading through my blog!
      In order to practice a more transformational leadership, I believe being flexible and adaptive to our environment and people is very important, therefore having a high Emotional Quotient (EQ) is very important in order achieve that standing. For my situation, I think I have ways to improve in terms of my emotional intelligence as I am still easily swayed by my emotions and tend to overreact in stressful situations. This is my pathway in order to improve in a social stance as well, therefore I will need to self-regulate my feelings more comprehensively and practice a mindful way of communicating and listening.
      Thank you!

      Like

    1. Hi Lynnette!

      First of all the PDP plan is super interesting , I enjoying reading it and at the same time I am super happy for you that you have become extrovert. I would like to hear more sharing of your journey how do you step out of your comfort zone?

      Like

      1. Hi Vincent! Thanks for reading my blog!
        I think there is a subtle balance of my introversion and extroverted-ness, therefore it can be seen that I am more extroverted than I actually am. In terms of stepping out of my comfort zone, I have this battle with myself all the time. A lot of times I am fearful of the unknown, therefore I tend to overthink and plan multiple scenarios in order to avoid a specific situation. It is very easy for fear to take over our minds when it comes to uncertainty, but it is important to realize that the emotions we feel today are impermanent; tomorrow we will look back and feel silly for worrying too much. In the end, it is very important for us as individuals to get comfortable with discomfort and familiarize ourselves with the feelings we feel.
        Thanks again!

        Like

    2. Hi Sarala, thank you for commenting on my blog!
      For my current team, I am planning to cultivate a more comprehensive leadership style, therefore will try different ways of leading those with different personalities. Moreover, I think becoming a strong role model is important in a workplace setting as well. My current superior likes to use me as an example to show how 2 years ago I was terrible in a public speaking setting, but whenever we strive to grow, there will always be growth somewhere. In addition, when I am caught slacking off, some of my teammates may pick up some bad habits from the way I carry myself. Therefore, I must find the balance between a professional setting and a relaxed setting in my workplace so I can serve as a good example for my new team members.
      Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Emily, thank you for stopping by!
      Yes, Mulan is a true inspiration indeed 🙂
      If I were to have a single attribute from her, I would like to be able to be able to assess the situation at hand and be quick to react in these situations as there are times when being susceptible to our environment is important in seizing an opportunity or to avoid bad situations as well. Although Mulan is a very courageous woman in the Disney movie, not many people can be as selfless when it comes to the wellbeing of others, and this is another trait I would love to pick up!
      Thanks again~

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Lynn,

    I always loved Mulan and I prefer the cartoon version to real-life. 🙂

    I see that you wrote about past performance reviews with the employees. In your opinion, do you think this helps the employee to improve themselves? What is your thought of the year-end performance review for bonus allocations?

    Like

    1. Hi Erie, definitely Disney animation > Live Action any day!
      I believe that bringing up the past shows what an employee has been, and how they want to improve from here must be well communicated in order to show how far an employee has come, and not stay in the past forever. I think in order to see growth, we must always refer to a starting point, and it is important to properly communicated not to reprimand the employee, but to inspire their direction of growth and see what works in the past and how to improve on it. There are many situations where the year-end performance review may not properly show how an employee has grown in their field, and I think it can be used as a reference for bonus allocations, but not the sole reference.
      Thank you for stopping by and reading through my blog!

      Like

  6. Hi Lynnette!
    Great written up and interesting sharing, especially the story from Mulan, I do enjoy reading it up 😀
    Just out of curiosity, you mentioned you had a swift personality. Do that affect your preference in leadership style?

    Like

    1. Hi Candy! Thank you for taking your time to read my blog!
      I think in terms of my introversion, perhaps a transformational leadership style may be too farfetched for my personality. Despite growing from a more extroverted person to the introvert I am today, I think I can learn a lot from previous transformational leaders and be able to read a situation effectively and approach it with a sound mind. In a sense, being observant may also help with this style of leadership, therefore I will need to cultivate more in this aspect as well. Who knows, perhaps a few years down the road I’ll be 50% introverted and 50% extroverted in the end 😛 Thank you again!

      Like

  7. Hu Lynnette! Love the great start of Mulan Character and definitely one of my favorite Disney characters! Read that you are currently working with a team of 7 members, how did you manage the conflict and overcome it among the 7 of you? 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading through my blog Claire! Yes, I am working together with my team of seven, however, we all report to the same manager, but there is a difference in seniority within this group of seven as well. Many times, our manager has little to no time to handle the whole team as she has to attend many management meetings with the higher ups, therefore a lot of her work tends to get delegated to us, including training up our new hires and leading them in our team. Thank goodness most of us in our team is very headstrong, straightforward, but still understanding, therefore whenever we come into conflict, we try to resolve it as soon as possible by allowing each other to speak our mind and come to a compromise through heated discussions. In a workplace setting, it is important to not let our personal feelings overwhelm us, so there is a specific mantra that we always follow through: “對事,不對人“ which roughly translate to “judge based on the situation/actions, not them as a person”.
      Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Lynette, thanks for the great sharing!
    I am interested to learn more about your experience on being an extrovert and adapting to be an Introvert – what changes that you observe and how do you manage?

    Like

    1. Hi Hema! I’m so glad you were able to read through my blog!
      It was definitely terrifying throughout the change from being an extrovert into an introvert; I could not juggle the amount of workload that came with being a full time student while working full time, as well as have a social life with enough sleep throughout my university days. I think slowly I became less connected with my friends and it was terrifying because I started losing people around me. However, this gave me a lot of time to think (which is bad for an over-thinker like me), but as I was surrounded by good and inspiring people, while eventually led me to be more honest with myself and autonomous in the work I do.
      Thank you for reading again!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Lynette really Good content! I love Disney movies! In this content you said that you’re always looking for feedback from your team.. Do you think is there any limitation of receiving feedback from others?

    Like

    1. Hi Teresa! Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      I think there is always a time constraint whenever we have to get any amount of work done in specific time frame, therefore it is really important to be able to time manage while still being able to seek feedback. In a sense, I think public speaking is also important in this aspect, since someone who is eloquent will be able to lead a discussion and control the momentum without making anyone feel left out or unheard. I would love to be able to be more eloquent and have more confidence in the way I speak. Thanks again!

      Like

  10. Hi lynette, Good Write-up! You have a clear goals to achieve during this MBA Programme. Would like to what is your personal strength and weakness in a team?

    Like

    1. Hi Su Wen! Thank you for reading through my blog; I really hope I am able to follow through with my PDP as well! In a team, generally my peers and superiors find me reliable in technical work, therefore they would always approach me if they ever need someone to organize and drill data. However, currently in my team, some people still find me difficult to approach. Perhaps at work I still exude an air of “Do not Disturb”, which often times comes with having to handle multiple taskforce in a limited amount of time. I have made an effort to spend after work hours with my colleagues, however, due to my restriction in diet it can be quite difficult as well. Overall, I will need to work harder to be more comfortable in a public setting, and I think this MBA has propelled me in the right direction, especially with such amiable and supportive course mates as yourself 🙂 Thank you again!!

      Like

  11. Hey Lynette.

    Had a great time reading your blog, love how you use Mulan as your hook to reel my interest in. Also, did you know Mulan is based on a true story? You may look it up 😉.

    However you did mention that your personality changed from 2016 till today. What do you think were the impacting factors that played a major role in the change?

    On a side note, ‘Witty’ should be one of your dominant traits within the Johari Window 😌.

    S.

    Like

    1. Hi Shaun! So grateful that you were able to leave your feedback here; I’m really glad that you think I’m witty hehehe 😀 And yes! When I grew up and eventually learned how to read Chinese I actually stumbled upon the folk story of Mulan, and one phrase that really stood out to me was “雄兔脚扑朔,雌兔眼迷离;双兔傍地走,安能辨我是雄雌?” This roughly translates to: “The male rabbit runs around, while the female rabbit often keeps her eyes shut; yet when two rabbits run side by side, who can tell which is male and which is female?” Personally, this sentence spoke volumes to me, and I grew up strongly inspired by her strong personality and amazing mindset. This has influenced me to be more honest with myself and work towards my aspirations and goals, which may have included being less social in university and work. I still believe that my extroversion is still very prominent, however, I am still introverted by nature and it really shows how mindset can really change how a person behaves and evolves. Thanks again!

      Like

  12. Hello Lynnette! I like how you illustrate leadership with Mulan. Haha. I am surprised that you are Introvert based on your personality test. Do you face any challenges as an introvert?

    Like

    1. Hi Nick, I’m really glad you were able to read through my blog! I personally enjoy working with myself most of the time, but that does not mean I don’t enjoy the company of others 🙂 Would really look forward to grabbing food and drinks with everyone sometime soon (while being socially responsible, of course)! I think as an introvert, there are times when I find it hard to communicate with others, perhaps due to the fact that I feel sometimes no one wants to hear my opinion or understand my feedback. Yet there are many times when these are just scenarios that I make up in my head, therefore I have decided to be more straight forward with others and work with what I have. Thanks again!

      Like

    1. Hi Claudia! Yes, this assessment was really eye-opening for me. I was not only pleasantly surprised by how others view me, but I also learned about the different attributes of INFPs that I could work on as showed on the 16personalities website. I think being able to constantly reflect on how I impact others as well as how my mind works will allow me to only grow from here. Thanks again for reading my blog!

      Like

Leave a comment